VALENTINE’S DAY FILMS FOR EVERYONE | fivethreeninety

Valentine’s Day is this Sunday 14th February, and whether you’ll be celebrating with a partner or not, here’s a list of themed films to suit almost every type of person on the day.

For romantics of any age:
The Notebook
This is often seen as THE romantic film of our generation and yeah, I agree. It’d such a sweet story about two people in love who overcome all boundaries to be together. Rachel McAdams is stunning and Ryan Gosling is well… Ryan Gosling. It’s a timeless story that anyone who’s ever been in love can relate too, and even a little bit more than a chick flick.

For musical lovers:
Moulin Rouge
I remember first watching this when I was fairly young and being utterly heartbroken by it. Directed by Baz Luhrman, it really is such a unique film featuring loads of different well known songs woven together into a musical telling the story of forbidden lovers, who are played by Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman.
For comic fans:
Scott Pilgrim vs the World
Instant classic. This Edgar Wright adaptation of the highly popular graphic novels is so brilliant, telling the story of Scott, who in order to continue dating the girl he loves (the mysterious Ramona Flowers) has to defeat her seven evil exes. It’s so true to it’s comic book style, so witty, and the cast is brilliant.
tumblr_nx7rpdB2Oj1rjlgb2o8_540.jpg
Michael Cera & Mary Elizabeth Winstead in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World
For teens (and everyone basically) :
13 Going on 30
This was THE film of my adolescence. I can’t count how many times I’ve watched this, but it remains brilliant every time. The film stars Jennifer Garner as Jenna Rink, a thirteen year old who, after a disastrous birthday party wishes to be thirty – only to then wake up as her thirty year old self in the future. Mark Ruffalo stars as her love interest Matty, and it’s kind of impossible not to fall in love with him.
For horror fans:
My Bloody Valentine
I have to admit, I haven’t actually seen the original film so I’m going on the 2009 remake starring Jensen Ackles and Jamie King. Basically the story follows this guy Tom, who returns to his hometown on the tenth anniversary of the Valentine’s night massacre that claimed the lives of 22 people. It’s not really romantic, and not a brilliant horror film, but it is on Netflix and Jensen is really, really nice to look at.
For Old Hollywood fans:
Roman Holiday
I’ll recommend this film to anyone who’ll listen till the day I die. Audrey Hepburn in her debut leading lady role as runaway Princess Ann is so endearing, and Gregory Peck as her guide as she explores Rome is gorgeous. It’s in black and white but the story is timeless, and I really think that even if you aren’t a massive fan of old films, you should give this one a go.
Audrey_Hepburn_and_Gregory_Peck_on_Vespa_in_Roman_Holiday_trailer.jpg
Audrey Hepburn & Gregory Peck in Roman Holiday
For art film fans:
Her
Admittedly, it did take me a while to get round to seeing this film but I have no idea why because it is brilliant. Spike Jonze’s genius script and direction earned him an Oscar award for best original screenplay in his story of Theodore, a lonely writer who develops an unlikely relationship with his newly purchased operating system that’s designed to meet his every need. It should seem like a stupid premise for a film, but it is so beautifully done that’s it’s stunning.
For Disney fans:
Tarzan
Honestly narrowing every single Disney film down to just one to include in this list was difficult. I’ve gone with Tarzan because it’s the classic story of two completely different people meeting against all odds and teaching each other so much about themselves. The romance is a huge part obviously, but it’s so much more than just a love story.
For watching with your friends:
Magic Mike (1 & 2)
Do I need an explanation for choosing this? Don’t go into this film expecting any sort of (decent) plot line, just enjoy the stripping. You will have a GREAT time, trust me.
3047999-poster-p-1-pony-magic-mike-music-supervisor.jpg
Channing Tatum & co in Magic Mike
I’m posting this ahead because Valentine’s Day is actually my birthday! I’ve never had been in a proper relationship either so I’ve never had to do the whole valentine thing at all, but this year I’ll have to get used to giving someone else cards and presents on my birthday as I have a boyfriend. Who is great and all but come on – it’s my birthday.
I hope this list of films inspires you to celebrate the day however – and remember, don’t be mopey if you don’t have a significant other to spend the day with. Get your friends together and marathon through these films, and don’t forget that it really is just an overrated day.
Except the part that it’s my birthday, because that bit needs a lot of celebration.
Leave a Reply

