OSCARS 2016 | fivethreeninety

Okay – this is going to be a long one. But a GOOD one, promise.

It’s Oscars day! Finally the most prestigious film awards ceremony is here again (actually this post has taken so long to finish I think the red carpet has already started). This year has seen some amazing films and stunning performances that lead to an exciting awards season. Will Brie Larson continue her winning streak for her performance in Room? Will Leonardo DiCaprio finally win an Oscar? I hope yes for both by the way, but wait to see all of my predictions for tonight’s award ceremony at the end of this post. But first – the important bit.

The oscars has also caused a lot of controversy this year by having literally only white people as nominees, and causing the #OscarsSoWhite movement to kick off again. Brilliant performances and films by people of colour were completely snubbed, most notably Idris Elba for his role in Beasts of No Nation & the brilliant film Straight Outta Compton. The latter, a biopic about the group N.W.A, did score one nomination for Best Writing: Original Screenplay – for the white writers.

While the Academy Awards have been criticised in the past for its lack of representation, this year has received major backlash, and even a swarm of celebrities calling to boycott the ceremony all together. Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith most notably have been public about them not attending the awards tonight.

landscape-movies-oscars-2014-will-smith-jada-pinkett.jpg
Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith at last year’s Oscars

The backlash is a long time coming – in the ceremony’s entire eighty-eight year history, only thirty two of the winners have been black. And that number is even lower for winners who were Asian or Latino. Look at this chart created by IBT from last year’s Oscar’s, and you’ll see the problem easy.

oscarschartsraceallcategories.png

Due to the massive outcry, Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs released this statement in January:

CZDXeCvUkAEeCHL.png-large.png

 It’s worth noting by the way, Cheryl Boone Isaacs is the sole black member in the Academy. Chris Rock is hosting, and I think I read somewhere that he agreed with the academy he’d only go ahead with hosting if he could make some deal over the lack of diversity. I can’t really see the Academy agreeing with that, but I also can’t see Chris Rock not making a deal of it anyway.

There’s also been huge drama over how the nominees are categorised, particularly the women. Alicia Vikander and Rooney Mara in particular have both been nominated for Best Supporting Actress – when both were lead in their roles in The Danish Girl and Carol. And thats just the problems the actresses face –  only 16% of all Oscar nominees have been women, who are dramatically underrepresented in cinematography and directing. The only area where women surpass men in terms of representation is Costume Design. So women’s presence remains strong primarily in categories stereotypically associated with them: in Costume Design and Makeup & Hairstyling women constitute 40% of the nominees.

Here’s how the 52 Academy Awards members breaks down:

37 white men

13 white woman

1 black woman

1 Asian man

That’s 96.1% white and 71% white male.
Which is obviously not at all great. 

This isn’t just a problem with the Academy Awards – it’s a problem with Hollywood. But as the most prestigious board and awards ceremony in the business, it has a big position that could help turn that around. I just hope that after this year’s majorly publicised diversity problem the Oscar’s is forced to really change up how it works.

Now – onto the good parts of the Oscars (because I really do love these awards)

Favourite Oscar winners of the past:
If you haven’t seen any of the films below, add them to your todo list pronto.

Audrey-Hepburn-1954-Academy-Awards

  • Audrey Hepburn – Best Actress for Roman Holiday (1954)
  • Brokeback Mountain – Best Achievment in Directing; Best Writing, Adapted Screenplay; Best Achievment in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Score (2005)
  • Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Best Picture of the Year; Best Achievement in Directing; Best Writing, Original Screenplay; Best Achevement in Cinematography (2015)
  • Julianne Moore – Best Actress for Still Alice (2015)
  • Octavia Spencer – Best Supporting Actress for The Help (2011)
  • Spirited Away – Best Animated Feature (2003)
  • The Sound of Music – Best Picture, Best Director, Best Sound, Best Film Editing, Best Music (1966)
  • Whoopi Goldberg in Ghost (1990)
  • Forrest Gump – Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Director, Best Writing, Best Film Editing, Best Effects (1995)
  • Chicago – Best Picture, Best Supporting Actress, Best Art Direction, Best Costume Design, Best Film Editing, Best Sound (2003)
  • Jennifer Hudson – Best Supporting Actress for Dreamgirls (2006)
  • Lupita Nyongo – Best Supporting Actress for 12 Years A Slave (2014)
  • Vivian Leigh for A Streetcar Named Desire (1951)
  • Liza Minnelli for Caberet (1972)
  • Reese Witherspoon for Walk the Line (2005)

 

And now, the big moment – my predictions for this year’s ceremony. If I get more than 10 right, you owe me £20 (note: I haven’t included predictions for any categories in which I haven’t seen a single film). Here we go…

 

MY PREDICTIONS FOR 2016 ACADEMY AWARDS:

BEST PICTURE:

What I want to win: Room
What I think will win: The Revenant
Nominees: The Big Short, Bridge of Spies, Brooklyn, Mad Max: Fury Road, The Martian, Spotlight

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE
Who I want to win: Leonardo DiCaprio for The Revenant
Who I think will win: Leonardo DiCaprio for The Revenant
Nominees: 
Bryan Cranston for TrumboMatt Damon for The MartianMichael Fassbender for Steve JobsEddie Redmayne for The Danish Girl.

leonardo-dicaprio-revenant-trailer-buried-alive-092915.jpg

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE
Who I want to win:
Brie Larson for Room
Who I think will win: Brie Larson for Room
Nominees: Cate Blanchett for CarolJennifer Lawrence for JoyCharlotte Rampling for 45 YearsSaoirse Ronan for Brooklyn.

room_1.jpg

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Who I want to win: Mark Ruffalo for Spotlight
Who I think will win: Syvester Stallone for Creed
Nominees:
Christian Bale for The Big ShortTom Hardy for The Revenant, Mark Rylance for Bridge of Spies.

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Who I want to win: Kate Winslet for Steve Jobs
Who I think will win: Kate Winslet for Steve Jobs
Nominees:Jennifer Jason Leigh for The Hateful EightRooney Mara for CarolRachel McAdams for SpotlightAlicia Vikander for The Danish Girl.

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM
Who I want to win:
Inside Out
Who I think will win:
Inside Out
Nominees: 
Anomalisa, Boy and the World, Shaun the Sheep Movie, 
When Marnie Was There.

inside-out-651.jpg

CINEMATOGRAPHY
Who I want to win: Sicario
Who I think will win: Mad Max: Fury Road
Nominees: 
Carol, The Hateful Eight, The Revenant.

COSTUME DESIGN
Who I want to win:  Cinderella
Who I think will win: The Danish Girl
Nominees: 
Carol, Mad Max: Fury Road, The Revenant

Cinderella_2015_27.jpg

DIRECTING
Who I want to win: Lenny Abrahamson for Room
Who I think will win: Alejandro G. Iñáeeitu for The Revenant
Nominees: George Miller for 
Mad Max: Fury Road, Tom McCarthy for Spotlight, Adam McKay for The Big Short.

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE)
What I want to win:
Amy
What I think will win: Amy
Nominees: 
Cartel Land, The Look of Silence, What Happened, Miss Simone?, Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom.

1401x788-amy-winehouse-documentary.jpg

FILM EDITING
What I want to win: Star Wars: The Force Awakens
What I think will win: The Revenant
Nominees: 
The Big Short, Mad Max: Fury Road, Spotlight

MAKEUP AND HAIRSTYLING
What I want to win: Mad Max: Fury Road
What I think will win: The Revenant
Nominees: 
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared

mad_max_fury_road_wallpaper_1920x1080_by_sachso74-d8r49ti.jpg

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE)
What I want to win: Star Wars: The Force Awakens
What I think will win:  Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Nominees: 
Bridge of Spies, Carol, The Hateful Eight, Sicario

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG)
What I want to win: Writing’s On The Wall from Spectre
What I think will win: Writing’s On The Wall from Spectre
Nominees: 
“Earned It” from Fifty Shades of Grey, “Manta Ray” from Racing Extinction“Simple Song #3” from Youth, “Til It Happens To You” from The Hunting Ground.

PRODUCTION DESIGN
What I want to win: The Martian
What I think will win: The Revenant
Nominees: 
Bridge of Spies, The Danish Girl, Mad Max: Fury Road.

the-martian.jpg

SOUND EDITING
What I want to win: Star Wars: The Force Awakens
What I think will win: Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Nominees: 
Mad Max: Fury Road, The Martian, The Revenant, Sicario

SOUND MIXING
What I want to win: Mad Max: Fury Road
What I think will win: The Revenant
Nominees: 
Bridge of Spies, The Martian, The Revenant

VISUAL EFFECTS
What I want to win: The Martian
What I think will win: Ex Machina
Nominees: 
Mad Max: Fury Road, The Revenant, Star Wars: The Force Awakens

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY)
What I want to win: Emma Donoghue for Room
What I think will win: Nick Hornby for Brooklyn
Nominees: Adam McKay for 
The Big Short, Phyllis Nagy for Carol, Drew Goddard for The Martian.

04BROOK-master675.jpg

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY)
What I want to win: Straight Outta Compton
What I think will win: Spotlight
Nominees:
Bridge of Spies, Ex Machina, Inside Out

So that’s been my massive post for this year’s Oscars. Feel free to tweet me about anything I’ve written here, and see you next year to see if the Academy had improved at all.

Leave a Reply

