FILMS ABOUT PARIS | fivethreeninety 

I’ve dreamed of going to Paris pretty much my entire life. And this morning I’m writing to you from a Parisian hotel very tired after strolling around the Eiffel Tower at midnight to see it all lit up at night (I did cry).

I’m so excited to be here but don’t want to abandon fivethreeninety so here’s a little post with a bunch of good films featuring the most beautiful city in the world.

Madeline

“In an old house in Paris that was covered in vines, lived twelve little girls in two straight lines”. So begins every Madeline story, originally in books but then in cartoons & a live action film starring Hatty Jones & Frances McDormand. I’ve talked about this film so many times – as a Madeleine I grew up with Madeline so it holds a very special place in my heart.
 


Moulin Rouge

This film is just stunning. A lot of people say it’s a bit like Marmite – you love it or you hate it, but I just think that’s Baz Luhrman’s style. It’s a musical but only features covers of hit songs instead of original – & it’s SO GOOD. And it will make you cry. Maybe just over how gorgeous Ewan McGregor is.

The Devil Wears Prada

This film is a modern classic & if you haven’t seen it… where have you been? It infamously depicts the life of a fashion magazine intern, & features a beautiful trip to Paris too. Plus Meryl Streep really is just a queen.


Funny Face

Audrey Hepburn & Fred Astaire star in this beautiful musical about a bookshop owner who believes she has a “perfectly funny face” but gets spotted by a fashion photographer to be a model. They take her to Paris for photoshoots & it’s so beautiful & all shot on location. I’ve been singing “Bonjour Paris!” The whole time I’ve been here.



Hugo

I remember Christmas Eve of 2011 my whole family went to the cinema to see this Martin Scorsese family film about a little orphan named Hugo who lives in the walls of a Paris train station fixing the clocks. It’s not a perfect film & Chloe Grace Moretz is a little annoying but it’s such a lovely story & will always remind me of that Christmas.


The Aristocats

Disney & cats & Paris. This film couldn’t really get much more perfect. A mother cat & her three kittens get taken away from their besotted owner & lost in France, & find their way back to her across the city meeting all sorts of characters along the way. Its so cute & a definite classic.

I’ve been thinking of all of these films whilst exploring this beautiful city. I really do feel so lucky to be here & I hope that these films can make you feel like you’re here too. 

Au Reviour!

One thought on “FILMS ABOUT PARIS | fivethreeninety 

Leave a Reply

