HOT FUZZ | fivethreeninety 

I’m at my Aunt & Uncle’s house in Somerset, in the tiny little city of Wells. I’m only here till tomorrow but it is one of my favourite places in the world so I’m happy I made it, because summer wouldn’t feel like summer if I didn’t visit.
I have mentioned quite a lot on my blog in the past that Wells was the film location for the 2007 British film Hot Fuzz – which is one of my all time favourite films. I’ve made countless wishes in the fountain Sgt. Angel throws a coin in, I had my first mint choc chip ice cream where Simon Pegg rides up the street on a horse, & today I was at a local fete on his morning run route. To celebrate my little visit back here I’m going to do a big old post about why it’s the best film ever.

The city of Wells

Hot Fuzz is the second feature length film starring best friend duo Simon Pegg & Nick Frost, the second to be written by Pegg & Edgar Wright, & also the second to be directed by Edgar Wright. It’s the second instalment in what’s called the “Cornetto trilogy” – the three films with the same writer/ director / actor (that’s Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, then The World’s End).

The film follows top police officer Nicholas Angel, who excels so much in London that he’s sent to the country to avoid the rest of the Police looking bad in comparison. So without much of a choice, he moves from London to the small village of Sandford in Somerset to become their police sergeant. There he befriends police officer Danny Butterman before slowly unfolding the secrets behind the seemingly idyllic village. It sounds so serious but it’s so funny as well.

The two leads are Simon Pegg as Sergeant Nicholas Angel & Nick Frost as Constable Danny Butterman, with a supporting cast including Jim Broadbent, Timothy Dalton & loads of other legendary British actors. 


My favourites are the police officers in the Sandford precinct – with Rafe Spall & Paddy Considine as the ‘Andy’s’ & the amazing Olivia Coleman as Doris. They’re all bumbling small town police officers whose biggest case can be something like a missing swan & spend most of their time down at the pub, but eventually all prove themselves as pretty ace police officers.

The script is brilliant, absolute class & so witty & clever. It’s so original, in its own league of British comedy just like its predecessor Shaun of the Dead, & just as iconic. 

Everything about it is spectacular, from it’s story to its cinematography to its stunts. It’s a hilarious concept that’s carried out so perfectly that’s it’s not just a bad film with good laughs, & will leave you able to watch it over & over & over again: trust me, I must have seen it about twenty times by now. 


I am a firm believer that Hot Fuzz is one of the best films ever to be made, & I’m not just saying that out of the sentimentally it has, or even because my aunt has a tiny cameo in it (she’s the Sandford Guide leader in the fete scene). It’s such a cleverly solid story arch that’s intense & investing with laughs in between & is just one of those films that makes you love films – or want to make films.
 It will always always always, be one of my favourite films of all time.

Leave a Reply

