WORKPLACE FILMS | fivethreeninety

I went back to work today & though it was good I think I’d way rather be at the beach, or at the very least be chilling on the sofa watching films.

To get me through my first shift back, I spent the time listing films in my head all about people at work. Here’s the best ones I found:

27-dresses-2008-central-park-movie-tours

27 Dresses

For some reason, as soon as I decided to think about work films this is the first one that came to mind? Katherine Heigl plays Jane, a young woman who’s been a bridesmaid a grand total of twenty seven times & is head over heels in love with her boss George. She dedicates her whole life to helping other people, going out of her way at work & as a bridesmaid to copious amounts of people. The best thing about this film though is Jane finding how to stand on her own two feet, & that’s what will make me watch it again & again.
That & for Benny & the Jets.

53a4285287840-9to5-l-m
9 to 5

Have I talked about this film on my blog yet? I don’t know but it is AMAZING. Pretty much everyone knows the infamous Dolly Parton song 9 to 5, but I’m not sure how many know that it came from the 1980 film of the same name. It’s about three women working in an office, & how they dramatically overpower their sexist boss. It’s incredible please just watch it.

horrible-bosses-alt-07072011

Horrible Bosses

Three employees, three bosses from hell. This film quickly became a comedy classic as the three male protagonists each try to rid themselves of their horrible bosses once & for all, obviously with hilarious effect. I love Charlie Day so, so much.

guhh

The Devil Wears Prada

Not only is this film one of the most iconic workplace & fashion films of all time, but definitely earns brilliant cult classic status too. It follows aspiring journalist Andy who gets a job as an assistant to the editor of the most prestigious fashion magazine in the world. It’s Meryl Streep who shines in this though as the ever bitchy, ever evil & ever fabulous Miranda Priestley – probably one of the most iconic characters in cinematic history. My GOD she’s brilliant.

hail-caesar01

Hail, Caesar!

Though advertised leaning towards the story of a movie star’s disappearance, this film is really all about the film studio’s “Fixer” – a guy who works tirelessly to solve all the problems that crop up involved with the studio. He handles publicity scandals, troublesome stars & ransoms all in a days work & he is incredible at it.

spotlight-movie

Spotlight

This year’s Academy Award winner for Best Picture is based on the true story of the team of journalists to investigate allegations against John Geoghan, an unfrocked priest accused of molesting more than eighty boys. It’s a brilliant story about the resilient reporters of The Boston Globe & it’s stunning.

the-office-season-9

The Office (US)

I know this isn’t a film, but what other workplace has inspired us as much as this one? I watched bits of the British original growing up but it’s the American version that is closest to my heart. It’s just a bunch of people working in an office, yet it’s so incredibly smart, endearing & funny as hell. As with it’s UK predecessor it will forever remain the absolute epitome of workplace depiction.

These are the people that inspired me in my work today. I’m sure there’s hundreds of others,

I do actually really enjoy my job. The work is tough enough to keep me busy, & the people are amazing. I’m still new at it, but it’s pretty close to perfect for me as a way to earn money to be able to pursue my dreams.

Leave a Reply

