MY MUM’S FAVOURITE FILMS | fivethreeninety

It’s my Mum’s birthday weekend, & to celebrate I asked her to list me a couple of her favourite films so I could write a blog post in her honour. 

She’s since got so involved in listing her favourite films that we were adding more to the list all the day, & had to come up with a ranking system to differentiate her favourite films from her mega-favourite films. 

Here’s the code:

💗 Super Favourite 

💗💗 Extra-Super Favourite

💗💗💗Mega-Extra-Super Favourite

I’m a huge film fanatic, & this is the woman who raised me to be that way so I’m sure you’ll see a lot of similarities between my Mum & I’s taste in film: expect classics, musicals, Marvel & a lot of Disney.

HONOURABLE MENTIONS



The Jungle Book

The Lion King 

Inside Out

Star Trek: Into Darkness

Star Trek 4: The Voyage Home

The Choir

Calamity Jane

Tom Thumb

13 Going on 30

Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory

Robin Hood Men in Tights

A Fish Called Wanda

Meet Joe Black

Toy Story (all of them)

Serenity

Amadeus

The Da Vinci Code

Death in Venice 

Some Like it Hot

Beauty & the Beast

Hairspray

What Women Want

Chicken Run

The Simpsons Movie

Pillow Talk

Dial M for Murder

Psycho

To Kill a Mockingbird 

Pirates of the Carribean

Men in Black

X-Men 

Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part 2

Enchanted

Frozen 

The Prime of Miss Jean Brody

Philomena

Esio Trot

Mamma Mia

Jane Eyre (1943)

Deadpool

Doctor Strange

The Belles of St Trinians 

Still Alice

Theory of Everything

Harry Potter (all of them)

Trading Places

The Road to Morocco

The King & I

The Court Jester

SUPER FAVOURITE FILMS:



Pocahontas 💗

Breakfast at Tiffany’s 💗

Roman Holiday 💗

Star Trek: First Contact💗

Finding Neverland 💗

Being John Malkovich 💗

Young Frankenstein 💗

Waking Ned💗

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers💗

Singing’ in the Rain💗

Begin Again💗

Saving Mr Banks💗

Love Actually💗

The Boat That Rocked💗

Good Will Hunting💗

The Elephant Man💗

Skyfall💗

Avengers Assemble💗

Don’t Look Now💗

Bridget Jones (all of them)💗

Life of Brian💗

Finding Nemo💗
My mum cries every time she hears Colours of the Wind from Pocahontas, & laughs so hard at Young Frankenstein, Life of Brian & Waking Ned that she’s been known to wake my sister & I up from two stories below us. Singin’ in the Rain was our favourite film to watch when we were younger & Skyfall emotionally destroys her every time – but it’s Finding Nemo that brings me the most memories of my mum. When we went to see it at the cinema she laughed so hard at Dory’s whale speak that tiny me was embarrassed by my parents for the first time in my life. 


EXTRA- SUPER FAVOURITE FILMS



Chocolat💗💗

Little Miss Sunshine 💗💗

Thelma & Louise 💗💗

Much Ado About Nothing💗💗

Not many made the two-heart list but the ones that did are incredible. Thelma & Louise is a feminist classic & Chocolat is beautiful, but the other two are my favourites. As mega fans of Joss Whedon we all went to the cinema to see his black & white personal project adaptation of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing when it came out & all sobbed our hearts out. It’s shot in black & white at Whedon’s own home with his favourite actor’s from other projects & all the original text & it’s gorgeous. Then Little Miss Sunshine was treasured our childhood – though looking back we were a little too young to be watching it. It’s the film I was introduced to Steve Carrel & Paul Dano (both of whom I adore) & me & my younger sister used to get up & join in the dance at the end. Neither of us realised it was that inappropriate.

MEGA-EXTRA-SUPER FAVOURITE FILMS



Sound of Music 💗💗💗

Dead Poets Society💗💗💗

Little Women💗💗💗

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind 💗💗💗

The Railway Children💗💗💗

Finding Dory💗💗💗

Being There 💗💗💗

The Nun’s Story💗💗💗

Misery💗💗💗

I think the mega-extra-super favourite films are the perfect summery of my mum. She’s a badass lady with a huge heart & I love her so very very much. 

To be honest, I recommend every single one of these films. My mum has quite a variation in film taste but always excellent. So happy birthday Mum – thank you for raising me on cinema’s best of the best. I love you!

2 thoughts on “MY MUM’S FAVOURITE FILMS | fivethreeninety

Leave a Reply

