GOLDEN GLOBE PREDICTIONS | fivethreeninety

It’s the most wonderful time of the year – Awards Season! Though we technically had the Critics Choice Awards a few weeks back, the Golden Globes for many marks the big huge exciting start to the season. It’s the first mass covered event with all the actors, directors, writers & all in fancy get ups & shiny awards & I couldn’t be more excited.

I have always been fascinated with film award ceremonies. I remember being really annoyed that I had to sleep through every ceremony on those Sunday nights, & that I missed the BBC Breakfast news coverage of it the next morning because I had to go to school before they got to that segment.

The glitz & the glamour is obviously a big part of it, but what I love most is the reason everyone is there: to celebrate film & television & the gorgeous productions of the past year in a grand ceremony. I love films & love talking about them & celebrating the great ones, & it makes me so happy when they get official recognition for it.

Every year I try to stay up & watch the event online, to predict who will win, fall asleep before it’s started & wake up to desperately search out the winners. So, before I crash in front of a pixelated live stream on my laptop, here’s my predictions for tonight’s ceremony.

(Note: I’ve deleted any categories that I wouldn’t be able to fairly predict due to not seeing them)

hero_Moonlight-TIFF-2016.jpg

Best Motion Picture, Drama

“Hacksaw Ridge”

“Hell or High Water”

“Lion”

“Manchester by the Sea”

“Moonlight”

I really really hope this will go to Moonlight. It’s one of the highest critically acclaimed films of all time & I desperately want it to get the recognition it deserves, & not swept under the rug due to it’s subject matters.

1316477_backdrop_scale_1280xauto.jpg

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama

Amy Adams, “Arrival”

Jessica Chastain, “Miss Sloane”

Isabelle Huppert, “Elle”

Ruth Negga, “Loving”

Natalie Portman, “Jackie”

I wish this could go to Amy Adams for Arrival, but I’m almost certain that Natalie Portman will sweep every award for her performance in Jackie this year.

manchester-by-the-sea1.jpg

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama

Casey Affleck, “Manchester By the Sea”

Joel Edgerton, “Loving”

Andrew Garfield, “Hacksaw Ridge”

Viggo Mortensen, “Captain Fantastic”

Denzel Washington, “Fences”

Casey blew everyone away with his performance in Manchester by the Sea. The only person I would be unsurprised to see him lose to would be Denzel Washington for Fences.

la-la-land-poster.jpg

Best Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

“20th Century Women”

“Deadpool”

“Florence Foster Jenkins”

“La La Land”

“Sing Street”

Though Sing Street was one of the best films of last year, & now one of my favourites of all time, I really do think that La La Land can’t not win this. 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

Annette Bening, “20th Century Women”

Lily Collins, “Rules Don’t Apply”

Hailee Steinfeld, “The Edge of Seventeen”

Emma Stone, “La La Land”

Meryl Streep, “Florence Foster Jenkins”

Again, I think this will go to Emma Stone – though, Meryl Streep was phenomenal in Florence Foster Jenkins. She will be receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award tonight though, which goes without saying is beyond well deserved.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

Colin Farrell, “The Lobster”

Ryan Gosling, “La La Land”

Hugh Grant, “Florence Foster Jenkins”

Jonah Hill, “War Dogs”

Ryan Reynolds, “Deadpool”

Though I greatly admired all of these performances, I’m pretty sure this will go to Gosling. I would also be happy with Reynolds receiving it for his fantastic work in Deadpool, & wouldn’t it just be so lovely if Hugh Grant got it?

moana22

Best Motion Picture, Animated

“Kubo and the Two Strings”

“Moana”

“My Life as a Zucchini”

“Sing”

“Zootopia”

If I were to select a winner, I would give the award to Zootopia – or Zootropolis, as it was titled in Europe. Moana is a worthy recipient though, as the best Disney Princess in years with gorgeous understanding & representation of the culture it’s set in that should be the standard for filmmakers everywhere. Kubo & the Two Strings was also beautifully made, but just about falls short in comparison.

Manchester-y-the-sea-Michelle-Williams.jpg

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in Any Motion Picture

Viola Davis, “Fences”

Naomie Harris, “Moonlight”

Nicole Kidman, “Lion”

Octavia Spencer, “Hidden Figures”

Michelle Williams, “Manchester by the Sea”

I would LOVE for Octavia Spencer to win this one but I think it will go to Michelle Williams, pretty much undoubtably. She is an incredible actress that I greatly admire.

aarontj

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in Any Motion Picture

Mahershala Ali, “Moonlight”

Jeff Bridges, “Hell or High Water”

Simon Helberg, “Florence Foster Jenkins”

Dev Patel, “Lion”

Aaron Taylor-Johnson, “Nocturnal Animals”

Taylor-Johnson was second to none as the unfathomably bad bad-guy in Tom Ford’s second masterpiece last year. He set the bar for acting & were it not such an all round perfect film, could easily have stolen the show.

Best Director, Motion Picture

Damien Chazelle, “La La Land”

Tom Ford, “Nocturnal Animals”

Mel Gibson, “Hacksaw Ridge”

Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”

Kenneth Lonergan, “Manchester by the Sea”

For me this is a tie between Tom Ford & Damien Chazelle, but I think this will one will go to Chazelle.

mtqyotmyotgxmtq3otaznjg4

Best Screenplay, Motion Picture

Damien Chazelle, “La La Land”

Tom Ford, “Nocturnal Animals”

Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”

Kenneth Lonergan, “Manchester by the Sea”

Taylor Sheridan, “Hell or High Water”

I really hope that Tom Ford’s stunning feat in cinema isn’t completely overshadowed by La La Land this year. Nocturnal Animals blew me away & he deserves this award absolutely.


Best Original Score, Motion Picture

Nicholas Britell, “Moonlight”

Justin Hurwitz, “La La Land”

Johann Johannsson, “Arrival”

Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka, “Lion”

Hans Zimmer, Pharrell Williams and Benjamin Wallfisch, “Hidden Figures”

This will be La La Land. No question really.

Best Original Song, Motion Picture

“Can’t Stop the Feeling!” — “Trolls”

“City of Stars” — “La La Land”

“Faith” — “Sing”

“Gold” — “Gold”

“How Far I’ll Go” — “Moana”

Do I need to keep explaining that La La Land will win? It will take everything home, especially for music.

And now for the Television Awards, which I lack a little more knowledge in due to many of them being unavailable in the UK. Still, here’s what I do know:

4118bc185081d7b9ff5160dc6e5304cbaab081a7

Best Television Series, Drama

“The Crown,” Netflix

“Game of Thrones,” HBO

“Stranger Things,” Netflix

“This Is Us,” NBC

“Westworld,” HBO

Stranger Things was the greatest piece of television I have seen in years, & it deserves every single award it could ever be nominated for. Every aspect of it was incredible, exciting & inspiring & I adored it.

Stranger-Things-Winona-Ryder.jpg

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series, Drama

Caitriona Balfe, “Outlander”

Claire Foy, “The Crown”

Keri Russell, “The Americans”

Winona Ryder, “Stranger Things”

Evan Rachel Wood, “Westworld”

Not sure why Millie Bobby Brown wasn’t nominated for this because I am in awe of that girl, but Winona was incredible in Stranger Things too.

rami-malek-wide-wallpaper-57333-59095-hd-wallpapers.jpg

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series, Drama

Rami Malek, “Mr. Robot”

Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”

Matthew Rhys, “The Americans”

Liev Schreiber, “Ray Donovan”

Billy Bob Thornton, “Goliath”

I’m a little biased because I love Rami Malek, but he does deserve this award again for sure.

jane-of-jane-the-virgin.jpg

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series, Musical or Comedy

Rachel Bloom, “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend”

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”

Sarah Jessica Parker, “Divorce”

Issa Rae, “Insecure”

Gina Rodriguez, “Jane the Virgin”

Tracee Ellis Ross, “black-ish”

Again, a little biased, but it’s about time Gina Rodriguez was recognised for her talent. She is incredible.

There’s my predictions – come back tomorrow & see if I got any right! I’ll be back to see how well I did, right after I check out the acceptance speeches & all the incredible attire from the red carpet. It’ll be hard for anybody to top Brie Larson from last year for sure.

The 74th Annual Golden Globe Awards will air on NBC live from 7:00-11:00 p.m. ET/4:00-8:00 p.m. PT on Sunday, January 8, 2017. 

Leave a Reply

