BAFTA PREDICTIONS | fivethreeninety

Tonight is the British Academy Film Awards, the most prestigious of British film award ceremonies & I am very, very excited – though that might be mostly due to the fact that I was on the side of the red carpet for it.

I find the BAFTAS to be really unique from other awards ceremonies. It tends to be the one that recognises the underdogs (so to say), the ones that are overshadowed by the big big film of the year; in 2017’s case, La La Land.

This gives me high hopes for other films I adored that have been a little overshadowed this year; Arrival, Nocturnal Animals, Lion etc.
So without further ado, here’s who I think, as well as who I hope, will win one of those big golden faces tonight.

Rising Star Award


Tom Holland

Anya Taylor-Joy

Ruth Negga

Lucas Hedges

Laia Costa
I reckon this will go to Tom Holland really, though I’m becoming a big fan of Anya Taylor Joy. Ruth Negga is just in another league for this catagory.

Best Actor in a Supporting Role 



Aaron Taylor Johnson – Nocturnal Animals

Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water

Dev Patel – Lion

Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins



I really, really hope this goes to Dev Patel, but I do think it will go to Mahershala Ali. This is going off what I’ve heard & from other awards ceremonies because Moonlight doesn’t come out in the U.K. for another few days so I haven’t been able to see it – but Dev Patel in Lion is I think currently ridiculously underrated. He was absolutely phenomenal in it & I really hope he can win this.

Best Actor in a Leading Role



Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge

Ryan Gosling – La La Land

Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Virgo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic




I really want this to go to Andrew Garfield. I haven’t posted my Hacksaw Ridge review yet but he was incredible, & I was absolutely stunned by his performance. But, I think this will have to go to Casey Affleck; who, don’t get me wrong, was amazing in Manchester by the Sea. He would well deserving of it.

Best Animated Film
Moana – John Musker & Ron Clements

Zootropolis – Byron Howard & Ron Clements

Finding Dory – Andrew Stanton

Kubo & the Two Strings – Travis Knight


I would be over the moon if either Moana or Zootropolis won this award as both were such excellent, progressive films for Disney & I was so pleasantly surprised – plus, the songs in Moana are incredible. However I do feel like BAFTA is the type to recognise Kubo & the Two Strings, so I wouldn’t be surprised if Travis Knight took home the award.

Best Film Music
La La Land – Justin Hurwitz

Arrival – Jóhann Jóhannsson 

Jackie – Michachu

Lion – Dustin O’Halloran, Volker Bertelsmann 

Nocturnal Animals – Abel Korzeniowski



Each of these films has a very distinctive soundtrack. From La La Land’s musical numbers to Lion’s moving melodies & Arrival’s creepy & haunting orchestras there is tough competition this year. But I do think this will go to La La Land without much question or surprise.

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Emma Stone – La La Land

Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins

Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train

Natalie Portman – Jackie

Amy Adams – Arrival



I want this to be Amy Adams so so bad, but I think it’ll go to Natalie Portman for Jackie.



Best British Film
Denial

American Honey

Under the Shadow

Notes on Blindness

I, Daniel Blake

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them
I’m pretty sure this will be I, Daniel Blake. It’s the only film from the British film section to make it to the Best Film group too, so that’s a bit of a giveaway.

Best Film
La La Land

Arrival

Moonlight

I, Daniel Blake

Manchester by the Sea

I want this to go to Arrival with all my heart, but I really doubt it would. My best bets are Manchester by the Sea & Moonlight.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Naomie Harris – Moonlight

Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

Viola Davis – Fences

Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake

Nicole Kidman – Lion

I would love for this to go to Nicole Kidman or Michelle Williams as both were jaw dropping in their respective roles, but I think Viola Davis needs to get this. Fences isn’t out in the UK either but I am desperate to see it as soon as it is.


Best Original Screenplay 

Barry Jenkins – Moonlight

Taylor Sheridan – Hell or High Water

Paul Laverty – I, Daniel Blake

Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea 

Damien Chazelle – La La Land

I reckon this will go to Moonlight. Failing that, La La Land. But I’m all honesty, I’d be happy seeing any of these films win – I’m not very good that this whole predicting thing I just want every film to win everything.

Best Adapted Screenplay

Theodore Melfi – Hidden Figures

Luke Davis – Lion

Allison Schroeder – Hidden Figures

Andrew Knight – Hacksaw Ridge

Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals

Eric Heisserer – Arrival

Robert Schenkkan – Hacksaw Ridge


I would be ecstatic for this to go to Arrival. It’s so unbelievably deserving of it. I’d also be really happy for Tom Ford to get this after his amazing work on Nocturnal Animals, or Lion’s Luke Davis.

Best Special Visual Effects

Arrival – Louis Morin

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – John Knoll, Hal Hickel, Neil Corbould

Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Paul Corbould

The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Adam Valdez

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Mans

PLEASE give this to Arrival. I didn’t even know that half of it was special effects until I saw before & after photos.


Best Direction


Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals

Ken Loach – I, Daniel Blake

Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea

Denis Villeneuve – Arrival

Damien Chazelle – La La Land


This is an award that I think will go to La La Land, but I would love for it to go to Tom Ford because Nocturnal Animals was beautiful. And it goes without saying that I would want Arrival to win this too.




Best Documentary 

13th – Ava DuVernay

The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – the Touring Years – Ron Howard 

The Eagle Huntress – Otto Bell, Stacy Reiss

Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney
As someone who was raised on The Beatles, & has a lot of Scouse blood in me I may be very biased in this one. But it was so good.


Cinematography


Bradford Young – Arrival

Giles Nuttgens – Hell or High Water

Linus Sandgren – La La Land

Greig Fraser – Lion

Seamus McGarvey – Nocturnal Animals


Every single one of these nominees is deserving of this award but Lion, Nocturnal Animals & (you guessed it) Arrival are my favourites.




Editing


Joe Walker – Arrival

John Gilbert – Hacksaw Ridge

Tom Cross – La La Land

Jennifer Lame – Manchester by the Sea

Joan Sobel – Nocturnal Animals

In my notes for this catagory I literally said I hoped every one would win. I have no idea who it could eventually go to but I guess I’ll be happy whoever it is.

Production Design

John Bush, Charles Wood – Doctor Strange

Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 

Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh – Hail, Caesar!

Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco – La La Land 

Shane Valentino, Meg Everist – Nocturnal Animals 


I’d actually really like Hail, Caeser! to get this! I reckon it will actually go to La La Land or Nocturnal Animals.

Costume Design


Joanna Johnston – Allied

Colleen Atwood – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Consolata Boyle – Florence Foster Jenkins

Madeline Fontaine – Jackie

Mary Zophres – La La Land

I would really like Allied to win this! It had amazing costumes that helped make the film feel like a real old Hollywood movie & worked so well in the Eric’s whilst still being for a modern audience. I do think that this  go to Jackie though.

Makeup & Hair

Jeremy Woodhead – Doctor Strange

J. Roy Helland, Daniel Phillips – Florence Foster Jenkins

Shane Thomas – Hacksaw Ridge

Donald Mowat, Yolanda Toussieng – Nocturnal Animals

Nominees tbc – Rogue One: A Star Wars Story


I think this will go to Florence Foster Jenkins, but Shane Thomas’ work for Hacksaw Ridge was incredible & I would love to see him win that.


Sound

Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariépy Strobl, Sylvain Bellemare – Arrival

Mike Prestwood Smith, Dror Mohar, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman – Deepwater Horizon

Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright – Hacksaw Ridge

Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A. Morrow, Andy Nelson – La La Land



Hacksaw Ridge was a haunting film because it totally immersed you in World War Two, & sound played a big part in that. Arrival also was incredible, but I think this again will probably go to La La Land.

Those are my hopes & dreams for tonight’s BAFTAs! Being on the red carpet sidelines was incredible, & keep your eyes peeled for a video in the next couple of days to see all the red carpet action.

The BAFTAs air on BBC1 at 9pm on Sunday 12th February.

Leave a Reply

