OSCAR PREDICTIONS 2017 | fivethreeninety

Tonight is the 89th Academy Awards ceremony, & let me tell you I am excited.

We’ve seen some incredible film this year, & I’m proud to say I’ve seen a lot of them. Which means I can actually have a proper say in my predictions for this year…

I have high hopes for this year’s ceremony, & am really looking forward to staying up till ridiculous hour in the morning to be watching it from the UK (not).

Here’s who I want, & think will win – I’ve covered almost every catagory except the ones I can in no way judge because I haven’t seen them. 

Everyone has to pay me £5 for every one I get right.

=============================

BEST PICTURE

Arrival
Fences
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
La La Land
Lion
Manchester by the Sea
Moonlight

What I want to win: Arrival
What I think will win: Moonlight

=============================

denzel-washington-2016-fences-drama-1024x576

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge
Ryan Gosling, La La Land
Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
Denzel Washington, Fences

Who I want to win: Denzel Washington
Who I think will win: Casey Affleck

=============================

img_3780


ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE

Isabelle Huppert, Elle
Ruth Negga, Loving
Natalie Portman, Jackie
Emma Stone, La La Land
Meryl Streep, Florence Foster Jenkins

Who I want to win: Natalie Portman
Wh0 I think will win: Emma Stone

=============================

IMG_3895.JPG

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea
Dev Patel, Lion
Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Who I want to win: Dev Patel
Who I think will win: Mahershala Ali

=============================

HT_viola_davis_fences_jef_160927_16x9_992.jpg

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Viola Davis, Fences
Naomie Harris, Moonlight
Nicole Kidman, Lion
Octavia Spencer, Hidden Figures
Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Who I want to win: Viola Davis
Who I think will win: Viola Davis

=============================

zootropolis-640x415

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Kubo and the Two Strings
Moana
My Life as a Zucchini
The Red Turtle
Zootopia

What I want to win: Zootopia
What I think will win: Kubo and the Two Strings

=============================

img_1346

CINEMATOGRAPHY

Arrival
La La Land
Lion
Moonlight
Silence

What I want to win: Arrival/ Lion
What I think will win: Moonlight

=============================

img_3383

COSTUME DESIGN

Allied
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Florence Foster Jenkins
Jackie
La La Land

What I want to win: Allied
What I think will win: Jackie

=============================

IMG_3781.JPG

DIRECTING

Arrival
Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea
Moonlight

What I want to win: Arrival
What I think will win: La La Land

=============================

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE)

Fire at Sea
I Am Not Your Negro
Life, Animated
O.J.: Made in America
13th

What I want to win: 13th
What I think will win: 13th

=============================

DOCUMENTARY (SHORT SUBJECT)

Extremis
4.1 Miles
Joe’s Violin
Watani: My Homeland
The White Helmets

=============================

screen-shot-2017-01-14-at-10-03-51

FILM EDITING

Arrival
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Moonlight

What I want to win: Arrival
What I think will win: La La Land

=============================

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

Land of Mine
A Man Called Ove
The Salesman
Tanna
Toni Erdmann

=============================

SuicideSquad.jpg

MAKEUP AND HAIRSTYLING

A Man Called Ove
Star Trek Beyond
Suicide Squad

What I want to win: Star Trek
What I think will win: Suicide Squad

However awful Suicide Squad was, it’s aesthetics are iconic already. Months before the film was even released the costumes, hair & makeup were already being recreated across the globe. It would be deserved.

=============================

Sunny Pawar stars in LION Photo: Mark Rogers


MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE)

Jackie
La La Land
Lion
Moonlight
Passengers

What I want to win: Lion
What I think will win: La La Land

While La La Land will most likely undoubtedly win this, I do wish it could go to Lion, or even Jackie. Lion’s score was so emotive & culturally rich; & Jackie’s was unlike anything. I do think Arrival was totally snubbed in this one, because Jóhann Jóhannsson’s score was utterly awe inspiring. It was unique & alien, atmospheric & enticing & it deserved a nomination at the very least.

=============================

la-la-land-ryan-gosling-01-670-380

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG)

“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land
Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
“Can’t Stop The Feeling” from Trolls
Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster
“City Of Stars” from La La Land
Music by Justin Hurwitz; Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
“The Empty Chair” from Jim: The James Foley Story
Music and Lyric by J. Ralph and Sting
“How Far I’ll Go” from Moana
Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

What I want to win: How Far I’ll Go/ Audition
What I think will win: City of Stars

I’m torn on this, because if Lin-Manuel Miranda were to win for his Moana song How Far I’ll Go, he would become the third person in history to become a PEGOT winner – a receiver of an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Tony & a Pulitzer Prize. Lin-Manuel only has the Oscar left to go, so that would make me very happy. However, I think this will go to one of La La Land’s two nominated songs, preferably Audition (Fools Who Dream) over City of Stars as Emma Stone’s performance of that was nothing short of stunning.

=============================

img_1352

PRODUCTION DESIGN

Arrival
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Hail, Caesar!
La La Land
Passengers

What I want to win: Arrival
What I think will win: La La Land

This is one where I’m not too sure if La La Land will actually win. I think Arrival’s design is incomparable in how it created an alien territory with relatable human elements to it, & really would love this to win.

=============================

SHORT FILM (ANIMATED)

Blind Vaysha
Borrowed Time
Pear Cider and Cigarettes
Pearl
Piper

What I want to win: Piper

Piper is the only one of these I have seen, but it was excellent. I have no comparison so I can’t judge who I actually think the award will go to.

=============================

SHORT FILM (LIVE ACTION)

Ennemis Intérieurs
La Femme et le TGV
Silent Nights
Sing
Timecode

=============================

img_3352

SOUND EDITING

Arrival
Deepwater Horizon
Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land
Sully

What I want to win: Arrival
What I think will win: La La Land

Again, Arrival is incomparable blah blah blah (you know how I feel), but I do think La La Land would be deserving of this even if only for the tap dancing.

=============================

img_1351

SOUND MIXING

Arrival
Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

What I want to win: Arrival
What I think will win: La La Land

Same as above. I need to do some research on the difference between sound editing & sound mixing.

=============================

Jungle_Book_2016_103.jpg

VISUAL EFFECTS

Deepwater Horizon
Doctor Strange
The Jungle Book
Kubo and the Two Strings
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

What I want to win: The Jungle Book
What I think will win: Kubo & the Two Strings

I would LOVE for The Jungle Book to win this, & I can see that happening. However, I think the one film standing in the way of that is Kubo, which would also be deserving of it – but at the same time, Kubo only uses visual effects at points where almost the entire basis of The Jungle Book was special effects.

=============================

hero_moonlight-tiff-2016

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY)

Arrival
Fences
Hidden Figures
Lion
Moonlight

What I want to win: Arrival/ all of the above
What I think will win: Moonlight

I want this to go to Arrival (& I would be super super happy if that did happen), but Moonlight (from what I’ve heard) is more than deserving of this. I fell in love with all of these films, & will basically be content with every winner.

=============================

img_2855

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY)

Hell or High Water
La La Land
The Lobster
Manchester by the Sea
20th Century Women

What I want to win: La La Land
What I think will win: La La Land

I think that La La Land should win this. I would be very happy with that – Damien Chazelle is somewhat of a genius.

=============================

Who do you think will win the coveted golden statues tonight?

I’ll be tuning in at 1.30am UK time (help me now), so tweet along with me & everyone else there if you want to be exhausted tomorrow!

I am excited for tonight. I think it’s always been a magical event

Leave a Reply

