AWARDS SEASON RED CARPET | fivethreeninety

I know that awards season is all about celebrating incredible films & the incredible people who make them but a little bit is about the fabulous clothes they wear to do that. And I will continue to frantically google all the red carpet looks the morning after the event until I am on one of them myself & seeing them in person.

It sounds crazy but the outfit is so much more than just what someone wears, & it’s especially prevalent at awards seasons. It’s you displaying yourself to the entire world, & what you say with what you wear can be huge.

So here’s my round up of the outfits that made me jaw drop this awards season.

GOLDEN GLOBE AWARDS
8th January 2017
Beverly Hilton, California

Emma Stone

GettyImages-631254342-emma-stone.jpg

Channeling the La La Land song City of Stars a little bit here & I lived for it.

Naomi Harris

naomie_harris.jpg

Chic & sexy & modern all in one go. Naomi is a queen.

Gina Rodriguez

Gina-Rodriguez-Dress-2017-Golden-Globes.jpg

My favourite look of the night, best seen in all it’s glory in a video on Gina’s instagram (seriously watch it she’s amazing).

Priyanka Chopra

priyanka_chopra.jpg

Priyanka brings my favourite look of dark lips paired with a metallic dress to life & kills it, as always.

SAG AWARDS
29th January
Shrine Auditorium, California

Viola Davis

rs_634x1024-170129162243-634-2017sag-awards-viola-davis

Just when you think Viola can’t get any more goddess-like, here she come dressed like a literal angel. You can basically see her wings.

Mahershala Ali

mahershala-sag-30jan17-12

I have a big thing for white suits & Mahershala wears one so well that he is undoubtably top of the list.

Brie Larson

brie-larson-sag-awards-in-los-angeles-1-29-2017-11

I would let this woman murder me.

Kimiko Glenn

170130082246-51-sag-awards-red-carpet-exlarge-916

I am obsessed with the OITNB star’s look. She looks so elegant yet fun & youthful.

BAFTAS
Sunday 12th February
Royal Albert Hall, London

(by the way I was at the BAFTAs & I made video about it)

Nicole Kidman

nicole-kidman-ee-bafta-2017-01.jpg
Can someone please explain to me how this woman is 49? Also link me to where I can buy this dress?

Emily Blunt

emily-blunt-ee-bafta-2017-01.jpg

Pictures don’t really do this dress justice because it was stunning. When she moved it went all swishy on the bottom & looked even more gorgeously sheer.

Anya Taylor-Joy

anya-taylor-joy-at-bafta-awards-in-london-uk-2-12-2017-7.jpg

This dress is insane but EE Rising Star nominee Anya wears it like it’s just something she threw on. I am borderline obsessed with this woman’s style & the risks she takes whilst still looking elegant 24/7.

Sophie Turner

634981160-ee-british-academy-film-awards-vip-arrivals-1140x1708.jpg

This Louis Vuitton dress is my life now. I am such a huge fan of low cut/ thigh slit dresses with long sleeves.

FILM INDEPENDENT SPIRIT AWARDS
25th February 2017
Santa Monica

Jenny Slate

jenny-slate-film-independent-spirit-awards-feb-24-2017.jpg

How gorgeous is this dress? It’s so simple but cut so beautifully & it looks so comfy as well.

Aubrey Plaza

aubrey-plaza-film-independent-spirit-awards-feb-24-2017.jpg
Aubrey Plaza is so cool.I need this shirt.

Janelle Monae

janelle-monae-film-independent-spirit-awards-feb-24-2017.jpg

Red carpet fashion isn’t about what you wear, it’s how you wear it – & Janelle Monae is the literal queen of slaying it.

OSCARS
Sunday 26th February
Dolby Theatre, Hollywood

Taraji P. Henson

taraji-p.-henson-oscars-2017-red-carpet-in-hollywood-21.jpg

CHILLS. LITERAL CHILLS. I AM IN AWE.

Emma Stone

emma-stone-oscars-2017-red-carpet-in-hollywood-4.jpg

& accessorised with a Planned Parenthood pin, this dress was more than worthy of an Oscar winner.

Auli’i Cravalho

auli-i-cravalho-oscars-2017-red-carpet-in-hollywood-16.jpg
Can we make this girl a real life princess already please? She’s not even seventeen & she’s just slaying at life.

Trevante Rhodes, Alex R Hibbert & Aston Sanders

fd5c56783b3f2d8f0cf01b0ac92771d0a36b881c6af77005ec05b75bf06e12b1-723x1024-2.jpg

The Moonlight Chiron’s have stayed every single red carpet they’ve walked on & I have been constantly in awe of them.

Jharrel Jerome

d281f0df74c7112030e73065c100404d3bb87a1fe2580c0bd6bf1b238d7174a1-683x1024.jpg

Another star of Moonlight, & another look that killed me.

Isabelle Huppert

01d6c58475b48f64baac2c7ee6a8b150a5f1217d21e3415d9c58f3a204cda079-683x1024.jpg

This is the classiest, most elegant dress I’ve ever seen & Isabelle wears it like a glove.

Brie Larson

73742876764bb403a6ef76dd76d48a61b134fd2ec79eb09b1f66c4a7bdf786d5-683x1024.jpg

Again –  I would let this woman murder me.

VANITY FAIR OSCAR AFTER PARTY
Sunday 26th February
Hollywood

Emily Ratakowski

emily-ratajkowski-vanity-fair-oscars-2017-academy-awards-rec1.jpg

This look just solidifies my love for model, actress & activist Emily.

Lily Collins

lilly-collins-vanity-fair-oscars-2017-academy-awards-rec.jpg
This Old Hollywood hair & makeup with this chic & sheer modern dress is giving me so much life.

Amy Adams

vanity-fair-after-party-6.jpg

Amy wore this at the Oscars ceremony but not up that red carpet so I’m including it here. This dress literally is showing The Academy what they’re missing out on by not giving her an award.

Naomi Harris

naomie-harris-vanity-fair-oscars-2017-academy-awards-rec

Actual. Goddess. I am not worthy.

Kate Bosworth

kate-bosworth-vanity-fair-oscars-2017-academy-awards-rec.jpg

This look really surprised me! I’m never really been overly interested in Kate Bosworth but this beautiful, Grace Kelly-esque dress is gorgeous.

That’s my roundup of this year’s awards season looks!  I think what I’ve learned from this is that I just really like shiny dresses. When I’m on red carpets one day every single dress I wear will be shiny. That’s a promise.

Leave a Reply

