FILM PET PEEVES | fivethreeninety

I’m not usually a person to focus on the negatives but there are some things that really, really annoy me in films that I just have to get off my chest.

This isn’t stuff like when the script is bad or when an actor isn’t great or when there’s inaccuracies. It doesn’t even really apply to “bad” films – just the little things that crop up in films every now & then that I cannot stand. 

Blood splatter on the camera lens

I just really, really don’t like it. It’s so cheesy, but it’s used in a lot of not cheesy films. It’s just so messy.
When actors playing the same character at different parts of their life just don’t look like each other

I get that it’s a crazy difficult job for a casting director to not only find someone who looks like the other actor but also has talent fine, but what really frustrates me is when there’s an actor that everyone raves about how similar they look & I just don’t see it. 
When people hanging up phone calls without saying goodbye

JUST SAY GOODBYE. 

When a character’s name isn’t made clear enough & you spend the whole film trying to figure out what they’re actually called

I watch a lot of films with subtitles just for this reason. You watch a film & you love the characters but you don’t know their names & it just makes you feel sad! I’m not here for that!
Really Obvious CGI

Think Doctor Who about ten years ago. I kind of love it in that stupidly brilliant context, but when it’s a big budget film & you can see the CGI aspects it just detracts from the story & takes you out of it.

I don’t know, maybe I’m just being very irrational. 

Do you have any film pet peeves? Tweet me, I want to feel like I’m not crazy.

2 thoughts on “FILM PET PEEVES | fivethreeninety

  1. actualandrew

    WHY DON’T THEY SAY GOODBYE?! To be honest, I thought it was an American thing. But it does drive me up the wall. I say bye about 4 times, in various ways before I hang up the phone so I 100% agree with that; JUST SAY GOODBYE!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

