MAY MOVIE CHALLENGE #1: MY FAVOURITE MOVIE

Long time no posts!

I’ve been very busy & very uninspired lately. I really miss regular posting but I just haven’t been able to sit down & think about anything to be able to post anything. 

But fear not – inspiration has struck, in the form of a 30 day challenge. 

So that’s what I’ll be doing in May. Funnily enough, May will be my busiest month in a while; I have work, birthdays, rehearsals, a play & a comic con all in the next thirty days. But I’m going to keep these little challenge posts short & sweet & doable, & stick to this challenge. 

So here’s day one: my favourite film.

Roman Holiday

I adore Roman Holiday. I have a list of films as long as my arm that I would class as my favourite but this is always my go-to that I answer. 

It’s an old black & white film from 1953 directed by William Wyler, starring Gregory Peck & Audrey Hepburn in her debut leading role in a story about a runaway princess trying to live her life while in Italy fulfilling her duties. It’s the film that won Audrey her Academy Award for Best Actress, along with a couple more for writing & costume design.

The reason why I love it so much is that it’s timeless – it’s sixty four years old yet remains so charming, captivating & completely relatable. 
It’s filmed entirely on location in Rome so it’s visually stunning – even though shooting on location meant loosing technicolor due to budgetary reasons. 

It is also very ahead of its time. Here is a film about a young woman desperate to live her life un-dictated & she does it. Princess Ann is so independent & sure of herself & how she wants to live. She takes a huge risk in a country she knows nothing about to live a little, & she learns so much. I LOVE HER.
Gregory Peck is utterly dreamy as Joe Bradley, the reporter in disguise, absolutely gorgeous & effortlessly talented. Literally my dream man.

Eddie Albert is the perfect sidekick/ best friend/ comic relief to the film as Irving Radovich, a photographer following the hidden princess on her adventure. The three of them together are perfect & totally make one of the best trio’s in film. 

And of course Audrey Hepburn is just sublime. She just has something that so few actors do, in that she just captures every bit of your attention. She is absolutely entrancing & this role is my favourite of hers – you can’t not fall in love with her, really. 

I always say to everyone, if you’re unsure about old movies, watch this one. Because it is timeless, as well as being funny, endearing, sad, heart warming & a real adventure. 
I love it. Roman Holiday is my favourite film.

Leave a Reply

