MAY MOVIE CHALLENGE #14: FAVOURITE QUOTE FROM ANY MOVIE

Today’s topic was tough! But I’m pretty happy with what I’ve picked – it’s a classic.

Well, nobody’s perfect.” 


 ⁃ Some Like it Hot, 1959

Context needed to understand the brilliance of this line: throughout the entire film Jerry, a musician on the run, has been disguising himself in an all female jazz band as a woman named Daphne. During this time a wealthy man (Osgood) has slowly been taking to “Daphne”, & in the final scene where they end up in a boat sailing away with each other Jerry/ Daphne is desperately trying to convince him not to marry her/him. 

Here’s the full scene:

Jerry: Oh no you don’t! Osgood, I’m gonna level with you. We can’t get married at all. 


Osgood: Why not? 


Jerry: Well, in the first place, I’m not a natural blonde. 
Osgood: Doesn’t matter. 


Jerry: I smoke! I smoke all the time! 


Osgood: I don’t care. 
Jerry: Well, I have a terrible past. For three years now, I’ve been living with a saxophone player. 


Osgood: I forgive you. 


Jerry: [tragically] I can never have children! 


Osgood: We can adopt some. 


Jerry: But you don’t understand, Osgood! Ohh… 


[Jerry finally gives up and pulls off his wig] 
Jerry: [normal voice] I’m a man! 


Osgood: [shrugs] Well, nobody’s perfect! 


[Jerry looks on with disbelief as Osgood continues smiling with indifference. Fade out] 

AMAZING.

Funnily enough, the line wasn’t actually meant to be in the film – it was only in the original as a place holder. But I am so glad they kept it as is.

Special mention for today also goes to EVERY line said by Mickey Rooney in Night at the Museum. Here’s a few:

Gus: He looks like a weirdy!


Gus: Do you want to dance, hot dog?


Gus: Listen up, Lunch Box!


Gus: Sweet dreams, cupcake.


Gus: Keep a lid on it, butterscotch.


Gus: Sleep tight, hotshot.

Beautiful. 

Leave a Reply

