MAY MOVIE CHALLENGE #20: FAVOURITE ACTRESS

This was simultaneously way easier & way harder than yesterday’s favourite actor category – because 1) I didn’t have to think at all about which actresses I loved and 2) that meant I had a lot to narrow it down from.

The obvious answer would be Audrey Hepburn, who you all know I adore. But I already have a handful of blog posts about my love for her & I don’t want to just be recycling all my own material.

So today I’m going to talk about Amy Adams.

This woman needs an Academy Award & stat. She is the most deserving actress of it today with her immense talent – she’s been nominated five times but has yet to win the coveted Oscar but her time is coming (though how she failed to be nominated for her performance in Arrival is beyond me).

The thing I had my most about her is the roles that she chooses to take and how much she understands the importance behind them. She very much sees film as a way of translating stories and issues to people in a way they can understand and relate to. She’s played a Disney princess; iconic women like Amelia Earhart and Margaret Keane; a con woman; a comic book icon; a world renowned linguist; a depressed divorce art gallery owner & even bitchy cousin Beth in Buffy the Vampire Slayer. 

And she is amazing at every single one of them.

She is brilliant at being able to effortlessly betray the character without using words – somehow giving everything you need to know about her character just with a look. 

Her work ethic too is amazing – it’s so clear that she acts because she loves it, but she is aware that the job she is in is amazing, so she takes it really seriously totally aware of how lucky she is. Everyone has worked with her speaks nothing but praise in her direction.

I love Amy Adams. The day she wins her Oscar I will throw a week-long party in her honour.

Other actresses I adore:


Audrey Hepburn

Jessica Chastain

Julianne Moore

Sarah Michelle Gellar

Viola Davis

Meryl Streep

Vivian Leigh

Eliza Dushku

Winona Ryder

Natalie Portman

Lauren Cohan

Dichen Lachman

Kathy Bates

Liza Minneli

Lucy Lui

Queen Latifa

Leave a Reply

