MY SISTER’S FAVOURITE FILMS | fivethreeninety

My baby sister turned eighteen today!

Lucy & I have always been close, & we’ve called each other our best friend for as long as I can remember. She’s only two years younger than me (almost exactly), so we grew up right next to each other, watching masses of films along the way. Going to the cinema has always been a big treat for us, & as I’ve said hundreds of times over, almost everyone in my family has a mass film collection; so it was unavoidable.

While Lucy doesn’t exactly share the massive passion I have for cinema in general, there are a ton of films that she absolutely adores & will watch to death. We have our favourites, & ones that the other one hates (*cough cough* Bride Wars *cough cough*), but ultimately her taste in films isn’t that different from mine.

Here’s Lucy’s best of the best:

e95a78d0a8bdfc12dd50023c9d8822ea4a084546

Sing Street
2016
Dir. John Carney

First on the list is Sing Street, a new addition that has moved immediately to the top of the list. A friend of mine bugged me to watch it almost immediately after it’s release last year & once I’d seen it I could not wait to show it to my sister. It’s about a group of kids who start a band & it’s full of amazing original songs, hilarious one liners & a lot of heart. We bought the DVD & watched it in the summer & she’s since been obsessed, & it’s now common practice to walk past her room & hear the soundtrack playing. It’s since been added to Netflix so you have no excuse not to watch it now.

Read more about why I love Sing Street here.

3665_71

Little Miss Sunshine
2006
Dir. Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris

When we first watched Little Miss Sunshine, though a little too young to understand this film properly we loved it for it’s comedy. Lucy even dressed as Olive Hoover for her tenth or eleventh birthday party. But as we’ve grown & revisited this film so many times we’ve become to understand just how beautiful the story is, about a dysfunctional family trying to do one good thing. We cry at the first shot of Steve Carell every single time now.

spike-island-2012-003.jpg

Spike Island
2012
Dir. Mat Whitecross

As a big fan of The Stone Roses & as someone who is completely in love with Emilia Clarke, it was inevitable that this would be one of Lucy’s favourite films. It’s set in 1990, around the week of the infamous Stone Roses gig at The film is based in Cheshire’s Spike Island, & follows a group of friends who idolise the band & see the gig as a way to get them to hear their own band’s music. It’s nostalgic & romantic, & completely transportive right to that moment.

o-THIS-IS-ENGLAND-facebook.jpg

This is England
2006
Dir. Shane Meadows

I have to admit, I’ve never seen anything from the This is England franchise but I do know that Lucy gets SO into it that she rants to me about all the characters & storylines that I have some gist of what it’s like. It’s massively critically acclaimed & won a handful of awards across the board, including a BIFA for Best British Independent Film, & then went on to have three spin-off series instalments spanning from 2010-2015.
I will watch this soon Lucy, I promise.

maxresdefault

Night at the Museum
2006

Dir. Shaun Levy

Anyone who knows my sister & I are well aware of the obsession we both hold over this film franchise. While we did always love the first film, it wasn’t until four or five years ago when we had a sudden burst of hysterics over lunch in a cafe that it truly became our pride & joy. Between us we have seven copies of the DVD’s (I keep one in the boot of my car), & are saved in each others phones as Cecil & Gus – Dick Van Dyke & Mickey Rooney’s characters.

All jokes aside, this film is magical & wonderful & should be adored by all.

bringitonnnn.jpg

Bring It On
2000
Dir. Peyton Reed

I can’t remember when we first saw this film but I do know that was on VHS at my friend’d house & we used to beg to watch it whenever we went over. For starters, we were already big Buffy fans, so seeing Faith (Eliza Dushku) in a film was a big deal, but that became only a small factor once we realised the entire film is a work of art. It’s the cheerleading film that started cheerleading films, & I will forever be grateful for everything it brought us; from Brr it’s Cold in Here to Sparky Polastri.

maxresdefault-2.jpg

Like Crazy
2011
Dir. Drake Doremus

This is an absolute happy/sad film. It follows Felicity Jones & Anton Yelchin as Anna & Jacob, a couple deeply in love who are separated by long distance & unable to physically be together. It’s undramatic & un-glamourised, & is Lucy’s go to film for whatever emotion she could possibly be feeling. I think it’s beautiful, & it’s a film I’ll be coming back to a few times over the years – but not quite on the bi-weekly basis that Lucy does.

cameron-diaz-kate-upton-the-other-woman

The Other Woman
2014
Dir. Nick Cassevetes

We knew we needed to see this film as soon as the first trailer was released. But, we were poor & couldn’t justify a cinema trip so we had to wait until our family’s trip to Florida to watch it in flight on the way from Gatwick & it was everything we had hoped it would be & more. This film gives me LIFE. It’s about women being friends & being badasses, & not letting their lives be stomped over.

Girls of St. Trinian's - St. Trinian's (c) 2009 NeoClassics Films Ltd..jpg

St Trinian’s
2007
Dir. Oliver Parker & Barnaby Thompson

We watched this today as Luce’s first film as an adult & I don’t think it could have been any other. It’s a reboot of the classics, with an all British cast following all the traditions of the originals. It’s a school gone wrong, but with a heart & pupils willing to fight for it & it is INCREDIBLE. It’s also hilarious enough to still laugh at every. single. time. What really makes it are the performances from Colin Firth & Rupert Everett – the latter of whom multi-roles as a brother & sister. Believe me, you have not lived until you have met Everett’s Miss Fritton.

d778b427157fb4d35b5ef6c50ce91e70.jpg

Room
2015
Dir. Lenny Abrahamson

We saw this together in the cinema on the eve of Lucy’s birthday last year. Both our Mum & I had read the book beforehand & knew the story, but Lucy was clueless other than what she’d seen from the trailers so I was a little concerned it wouldn’t resonate with her as much but she fell in love with it. With the screenplay written by the book’s author, the adaption is as true as it could ever have been & the two leads are phenomenal; the spectacular talent that came from then-seven year old Jacob Tremblay is almost incomprehensible; & Brie Larson as his mother was one of the most deserving performances of an Academy Award I have ever seen.

Read more about why I loved Room here.

mtqyotmyotgxmtq3nzcynje2

Nocturnal Animals
2016
Dir. Tom Ford

As Lucy explained it, it takes a lot for her to be completely captivated by a film, especially when watching it in a cinema. But we had a few hours to kill on Christmas Eve & decided to treat ourselves to a screening at Soho’s Curzon & when the lights came up with the credits my sister was in awe. It’s a dark & disturbing yet entrancing story that’s told so beautifully by writer/ director Tom Ford that captures every bit of your attention.

Read more about why I loved Nocturnal Animals here.

That’s my now-not-so-little sister in a nutshell. I love her to bits & she really is my best friend – & I am well chuffed that I can now see 18 rated films with her now.

LOVE YOU!

One thought on “MY SISTER’S FAVOURITE FILMS | fivethreeninety

Leave a Reply

